The Five Types of Human Teeth

By / 2 years ago / Health / No Comments
The Five Types of Human Teeth

Most people really don’t think about their Clinique Dentaire Des Cedres teeth. Sure, you brush once, maybe twice a day; perhaps you are among the few who actually floss regularly. And, sure, you definitely visit the dentist at least once a year.  But have you ever actually thought about your teeth, like to the point that you have learned there are five types of teeth in the human mouth?

Well, if you have never really thought about it now you know, at least, we have five types of teeth—and we need all five because they serve different purposes.

The Incisors

Front and center, we have the incisors. Four on the top and four the bottom, the incisors are the teeth we use to take the first bit of food.  You might better recognize the incisors as the first set of (4) teeth that a baby grows, typically erupting around 6 months after birth.  This, of course, is to help them start eating more solid foods.  You get the second set of (4) incisors around the age of 8, to begin the maturation process into early adulthood.Image result for The Five Types of Human Teeth

The Canines

After the incisors develop, the canines begin to come through the gums.  These are the pointier teeth to the outside of your incisors—the ones that look like “fangs” on some people—that are designed specifically for ripping and tearing through more complex foods.  You get two sets of two canines (two on top and two on the bottom), and they first start to grow in after about 18 months.  

The PreMolars

The Premolars—often called the bicuspids—are necessary as a child begins to start chewing and grinding.  Just like with the canines, we get two sets of two premolars and they grow in just behind the canines, on each side of the mouth of course.

The Molars

You couldn’t have “premolars” without “molars” and we begin to see these mid-mature teeth around the age of 12 to 15 months.  They are also called the “deciduous” molars and they are then eventually replaced by first and second permanent premolars: again, four on the top and four on the bottom.

The Wisdom Teeth

The third set of molars is called the “wisdom teeth” as they typically erupt through the gums around age 18 (years).  Some people never develop them while others need to have them removed because they can “impact” the existing teeth.  

For betterment of your teeth please visit cosmetic dentistry dubai

James Alvarado

James Alvarado

The author didn't add any Information to his profile yet.